Bangor's Alternative

Pixies Announced New Album & share first single; “There’s A Moon On”

Pixies have announced their eighth studio album, Doggerel, (coming September 30th) and they’ve shared the first single; There’s a Moon On.

Pixies guitarist Joey Santiago says, “This time around we have grown. We no longer have under two-minute songs. We have little breaks, more conventional arrangements but still our twists in there.” Vocalist/guitarist Black Francis adds, “We’re trying to do things that are very big and bold and orchestrated. The punky stuff, I really like playing it but you just cannot artificially create that shit. There’s another way to do this, there’s other things we can do with this extra special energy that we’re encountering.”

The band also shared a 6 minute album trailer on the recording of the new album in Vermont.

Doggerel tracklist:

  1. Nomatterday
  2. Vault of Heaven
  3. Dregs of the Wine
  4. Haunted House
  5. Get Simulated
  6. The Lord Has Come Back Today
  7. Thunder & Lightning
  8. There’s A Moon On
  9. Pagan Man
  10. Who’s More Sorry Now?
  11. You’re Such A Sadducee
  12. Doggerel

Doggerel will be released September 30th via BMG. Fans can presave/preorder the album here