Bangor's Alternative

The Black Keys To Honor Blues Influences With “Delta Kream” Covers Album

The Black Keys have announced a new album honoring their Mississippi Hill Blues influences including R. L. Burnside and Junior Kimbrough. Delta Kream will have the band covering Burnside & Kimbrough as well as Ranie Burnette, Joseph Lee Williams, & John Lee Hooker.

Delta Kream album art. Vintage car in from of Delta Kream ice cream stand.

The announcement was originally shared with the band’s fan club, Lonely Boys & Girls (and then it made its way to reddit). Members of the fan club also got a sneak peak at the first track, Crawling Kingsnake (by John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)

Delta Kreme will be released May 14th on Easy Eye Sound. Preorders start April 15th, likely via the band’s website.

Delta Kream Track Listing:
1) Crawling Kingsnake (John Lee Hooker / Bernard Besman)
2) Louise (Fred McDowell)
3) Poor Boy A Long Way From Home (Robert Lee Burnside)
4) Stay All Night (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
5) Going Down South (Robert Lee Burnside)
6) Coal Black Mattie (Ranie Burnette)
7) Do the Romp (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
8) Sad Days, Lonely Nights (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
9) Walk with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)
10) Mellow Peaches (Joseph Lee Williams)
11) Come on and Go with Me (David Kimbrough, Jr.)